Cheshire Women’s Cricket League

Following the recent Annual General Meeting, the Cheshire Women’s Cricket League is pleased to welcome Hayfield CC as a full member club and the club’s women’s team will participate in the league’s senior hardball competitions in 2021. 

There will also be at least one other new team next year as Nantwich have become the latest club to enter a women’s second team. 

At the end of the truncated 2020 season, Porthill Park were convincing winners of the Western Division of the Summer Series with a 100 per cent record and an 83-point lead in the final standings. After winning their early matches by large margins, Porthill didn’t always have things their own way in the batting department in the later stages of the season, but no team was able to truly get to grips with their varied bowling attack.

Nantwich and Upton staged an exciting battle for the runners up spot as these two clubs maintained the excellent progress they have made in a short space of time. Nantwich ultimately prevailed in this race by a single point.

Stockport Trinity finally emerged triumphant in the Eastern Division by recording a dramatic and emphatic win in a final day winner takes all showdown against Didsbury, after it was Didsbury who narrowly won the first of the top of the table clashes some weeks earlier.

In the Development Division, it was another trophy winning season for undefeated Lindow after four victories by comfortable margins.

In the Westerb Division, the individual award winners were

  • Batting Award for Most Runs – Evelyn Jones (Porthill Park) 343 runs
  • Bowling Award for Most Wickets – Bethan Robinson (Nantwich) 14 wickets
  • Fielding Award for Most Catches & Run Outs – Molly Price (Oxton) 7 dismissals
  • Wicketkeeping Award for Most Catches & Stumpings – Libby Clifton (Porthill Park) 8 dismissals