South & Mid Cheshire Tennis League – Winter 2020

Article and Photographs: Jonathan White

Winter 2020 matches of the South & Mid Cheshire Tennis League commenced on Sunday 11th October.

The teams participating are;

Division 1 (Hartford A, Congleton A, Cuddington A, Cuddington B, Alsager A, Nantwich A)

Division 2 (Wistaston A, Congleton B, Alsager B, Holmes Chapel A, Winsford A)

Division 3 (Wrenbury A, Wistaston B, Hartford B, Kelsall, Holmes Chapel B, Alsager C)

Division 4 (Congleton C, Holmes Chapel C, Bunbury, Cuddington C, Wrenbury B, Congleton D)

Division 5 (Alsager D, Cuddington D, Congleton E, Nantwich B, Wistaston C).

The top team and bottom team in each division will be promoted or relegated respectively. From January 2021 these teams will form the Spring league.

The Barbara Smith Cup and Ray Jones Cup knockout competitions also commenced on Sunday 11th October 2020.

The 2020 South & Mid Cheshire Tennis League Summer League did not take place due to Covid-19 restrictions. 

Local team Wistaston A won 6-2 against Holmes Chapel A in their first match of the Winter League on their two courts behind the Wistaston Memorial Hall & Community Centre on Church Lane in Wistaston.

After the victory George Raiswell, Wistaston A team captain, said: β€œIt’s great to be back playing matches against other teams.”

Fixtures, results and tables are updated during the year via the League website.

For further information relating to Wistaston Jubilee Tennis Club please visit their Facebook page, or phone: 01270 560471.